The disappointed spectator

20140514-102217.jpg

Because I ride a bicycle, I am a fan of people who also ride. That means when I am not riding, I am a spectator, silently cheering on my favorite team.

Maybe that means I’m a Cubs fan, because I’m constantly being let down.

Take this rider. Nice enough bike, good rack and pannier. A minute before, I watched him confidently descend the Peoria side of the Michel bridge–holding his line.

And then he passed me on the left, running the red light that I had stopped for.

It’s a let down for a couple of reasons: First, I had confused equipment for competency. (It wasn’t the first time.)

But more importantly, while I wasn’t the only one watching, I worried that others around me were assigning that behavior to all people who ride.

And that’s a shame.

About 16incheswestofpeoria

Former bicycle mechanic, current peruser of books, feeder of birds.
This entry was posted in Report from the road and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The disappointed spectator

  1. Rick Brown says:

    I agree with you 100%. Sometimes, we are own worst enemies.

    • On the other hand, the rider was consistent, running every stoplight along a 1/4 mile of street, passing and being passed by the same set of cars.

      What some people will do to keep from putting a foot down.

  2. Rick Brown says:

    Reblogged this on Bicycle Trax and commented:
    Don’t be our own worst enemy – follow the rules fo the road.

Leave a Reply

