Rolling Blue Ridge on the Fisher

bike on blue ridge

It may snow tonight, but Saturday was a great day for a spin out in the country. Centerville to Streitmatter to Blue Ridge to Santa Fe in northern Peoria County. A little gravel here and there, but nothing the Fisher’s tires couldn’t handle.

If I keep treating this machine like it’s my only road bicycle (defined as having more or less full-size wheels and derailleurs), I may upgrade to Compass tires from Compass Bicycles, which offer more flexible, higher-performance casings. For those who aren’t familiar with the Fisher Advance, this is not unlike running Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD07 tires on a 1950s Divco milk truck.

I used to ride Blue Ridge with the bicycle club years ago on the trip to Tanners, the local apple orchard. A bit of a climb to move from the Illinois river valley to the high prairie, but Blue Ridge pays you back on the return with a curving, tree-lined descent.

Today, the view from  Tanners parking lot includes tall white wind generators as far to the north as you can see. Any bicyclist can tell you that central Illinois has more than enough wind to make those generators profitable.

Still working out some smaller issues on the Fisher. Need to remove grit from the brake shoes and keep the front fender from rattling where it grazes the sides of the fork. But the biggest issue, easily, is that stupid narrow saddle. Which means I finally rode it far enough to notice how ridiculously inadequate it is.

Back to the parts box.

About 16incheswestofpeoria

Former bicycle mechanic, current peruser of books, feeder of birds.
This entry was posted in Report from the road and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rolling Blue Ridge on the Fisher

  1. Craig Burgess says:

    Glad you were able to get out before the Return of Winter. I still can’t breathe without coughing so I worked on the new wheels instead.

  2. Micheal Blue says:

    Riding outside the city is so different – a special treat. How far is it to get from your place to the outskirts of the city? I can see the handlebars are very slightly below the seat level. Your hands don’t get tired from all that leaning? Well, perhaps I’m one of the very few riders that have their handlebars set above the seat level. Initially my Tikit had the handlebars at the same level as the seat and after my one-hour commute I could really feel my hands, despite of changing hand positions frequently. Plus I like the royal view offered by the more upright seating, though it’s probably not very efficient cycling-wise.

    • I’m well outside the city limits. I’m thinking of a half-truck half-bike commute this year. Fisher’s position isn’t bad, the seat’s more the problem, but I’m at the limit of what I can do with the stems, shims and risers in the basement. If I ever get hold of an oxy-acetylene kit, I’ll make a stem that will indeed raise the handlebars, though I don’t see higher handlebars as a complete panacea; for me, it’s the combination of reach and height that makes the difference. On my tandem, the bars are an inch and a half to two inches higher than the seat.

Leave a Reply

