40 years later: The Schwinn Sports Tourer

Update: This article shows the original condition of the Schwinn. Enjoy, but be sure to take a look at some of the newer stories, too.

20120429-062646.jpg

When I got the chance to pick up a portion of Les Siegrist’s cycling estate, I was more interested in the Park Tool stand and hand tools than this wheelless, 22-inch Schwinn Sports Tourer, but I almost remembered Les riding it, and the Schwinn had a Nervar cotterless crank in pretty good condition, so I adopted the bike as well. If nothing else, it had been a while since I last had the opportunity to swear at French components.

20120429-063038.jpg

The round sticker indicates we’re not looking at a Varsity or Continental. An Internet search quickly led me to Mike Rother’s essay on Schwinn fillet-brazed bicycles. The Sports Tourer has seamless, straight-gauge chrome molybdenum tubes, not the heavier, longitudinally welded (electro-forged) tubes made in Schwinn’s own factory from coils of steel strip and destined for the vast majority of its production.

I’d forgotten that in the 1970s Schwinn made three types of frames: electro-forged (Stingray, Varsity and others), fillet-brazed (Superior, Sports Tourer, Super Sport) and lugged (Paramount).

Fillet-brazing is an expensive, time-consuming way to build a frame, and Schwinn had been building frames similar to this since the late 1930s in Chicago. Usually, frame builders charge more to make fillet-brazed frames than lugged frames, but the Paramounts featured double-butted tubing (thicker on the ends, thinner in the middle and pricier than straight gauge tubing) and were better finished than the fillet-brazed frames.

20120429-063900.jpg

It looks like a good old electro-forged frame, with the top tube, head tube and seat tube flowing smoothly into each other, but this lighter, hand-built frame took a lot longer to build than a Varsity or Continental. (The electro-forging process used to create most Schwinn bicycles was a high-speed production wonder.)

20120429-063336.jpg

Schwinn Approved language shows up on third-party parts, including the centerpull brake calipers, front derailleur clamp and the brake extension levers.

Extension levers make it difficult to “ride the hoods” by wrapping your hands around the main brake lever bodies. They’re also more difficult to modulate than the main lever. Without close attention to cable adjustment, many riders find the extension levers bottom out on the handlebar before sufficient braking force is achieved. One of my favorite jobs back in the day was to delete the extension levers and install gum brake hoods, along with new handlebar tape.

20120429-063533.jpg

Twin-Stik shifters feature the Schwinn “S” as does the aluminum stem, which necks down to Schwinn’s 0.833-inch stem diameter before entering the fork steerer tube. (This is a smaller diameter than the 22.2-mm stems used by other makers, which makes finding a replacement, let alone a different length stem, difficult.) When I rebuild the bicycle, I’ll probably install bar-end shifters if I stay with dropped handlebars.

Items like these shifters, the brake extension levers and the steel kickstand made it difficult for the average bicycle buyer to distinguish fillet-brazed Schwinns from their lower-priced brethren. The fact that the frames closely resembled other Schwinns didn’t help, though the forged dropouts and tubular fork blades were clearly different.

20120429-064813.jpg

The Nervar crankset never got the spotlight afforded to its French competitors, Stronglight and T.A., but it was a competitive offering and this particular unit looks to be in pretty good shape.

20120429-063705.jpg

Here’s the gear chart based on the Nervar’s 54 and 40-tooth chainrings and the original 14-34 five-speed freewheel specifications. The 40-34 chainring/freewheel cog combination provided a fairly decent climbing gear.

The shifting pattern is also pretty simple: On the 40-tooth chainring, I’d probably shift the rear derailleur from the 34 to the 17, then shift the front derailleur to the big chainring and make one more rear shift to get to the 104-inch top end. (I’d also cross-chain the small chainring to the 14-tooth in the rear to pick up that 77-inch “in-betweener.”)

Unable to maintain the 104 for any reasonable length of time, I’d stay on the big chainring and shift the rear derailler to the 28-tooth cog before bailing to the smaller chainring. Of course, I don’t have the original freewheel and finding a five-speed with a 34-tooth cog is likely to be pretty difficult. Most likely I’ll end up with a 14-28 and kiss that sweet climbing low goodbye.

20120429-064356.jpg

20120429-064550.jpg

The original derailleur was threaded directly into the lowest part of the dropout instead of using an adapter plate to attach to the slot of the dropout. Somewhere along the way, the dropout threads were damaged and a Shimano Tourney derailleur was slipped into place a Shimano Tourney was installed that was incompatible with the Huret dropout. I’ll restore the dropout’s original derailleur attachment using a Heli-Coil thread repair kit. I will create an adapter that will allow me to bolt a modern derailleur in place using the original mounting threads.

20120429-064949.jpg

No hiding the serial number under the bottom bracket with Schwinn. It’s just above the lower headset cup on the right side of the frame. This frame was manufactured in March (“C”) 1972 (“H”).

20120429-080612.jpg

Here’s the clean and simple Schwinn Chicago head badge. You’ll never see another one like this on a new bike.

While this frame was being brazed and filleted, Schwinn was losing to changing technology and competition. The next year the company would begin importing lugged frames. In a few more years, the United Auto Workers would unionize the Chicago plant, Schwinn would establish a relationship with Giant and try a new plant in Mississippi. Twenty years after this Sports Tourer frame was painted Opaque Blue, the original Schwinn, the dominant U.S. brand of the 20th century, would close shop for good.

Links:

Dave Kirk explains how he approaches fillet brazing on his custom frames. Sheldon Brown’s websites are a wealth of information for the bicyclist. Here’s Mike Rother’s essay on fillet-brazed Schwinn frames. Fillet brazing can be used to make a very nice frame, but the real marvel in the Schwinn factory was the high-tech electro-forging process, used to make everything from Stingrays to Continentals. Marc Muller explains how Schwinn turned coil strips of steel into its own tubing. At one time, riders would type up gear charts and tape them to their handlebars. Some still do. If you’re interested in what all your cogs add up to, Sheldon made it easy to generate your own. The Chicago factory, the fillet-brazing section and the amazing electro-forging line are long gone, but Richard Schwinn, great-grandson of founder Ignaz Schwinn, turns out beautiful hand-made bicycles in Wisconsin under the Waterford moniker. Waterfordbikes.com also hosts Tom Findley’s scans of Schwinn catalogs from 1895 through 2000. Check out the 20-pound, 12-ounce Superior Racer from 1939.

About 16incheswestofpeoria

Former bicycle mechanic, current peruser of books, feeder of birds.
This entry was posted in Equipment, History, Schwinn Sports Tourer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to 40 years later: The Schwinn Sports Tourer

  1. Ray Keener says:

    Sam, I can get you a 6-speed 14-34 freewheel, Shimano MF-ZH30. Not seeing any 5-speed with this kind of range. How about a Falcon 14-28 5-speeder? The shift up to the 34 had to make that Huret rear derailleur curse loudly in French anyway…

    • How about a trade: the six-speed for that blue popcorn you seem to like?

    • Stephen Barner says:

      The original freewheel was a French-made unit that had a skip-tooth configuration on the largest two cogs. Similar (and better) Suntour freewheels do come up from time to time, though the original gearing makes for some huge jumps. I picked up an almost identical Sports Tourer quite a few years ago, and in almost the same condition. The paint was quite good, but it was missing most of its parts. I had most of the correct parts in the archives, and it is now complete, but with Campy Tipo hubs instead of the Schwinn branded Normandy Luxe ones that it would have had originally. I also went with Suntour barcons. Several years ago, a person about 50 miles from me sold off the identical bike, complete and in excellent shape for only $75. I talked myself out of buying it, since I already had one and wasn’t riding it, but I still kick myself for that. Back in 1971, I wanted to update my Varsity and looked long and hard at the Sports Tourer, settling instead on a Motobecane Grand Touring, which served me well. It was the last bike I bought at retail, as the next year, I got a job at the Schwinn shop and continued the downward spiral that has brought me to where I am today 😉

  2. Lar Davis says:

    Wonderful article, Sam. I think I’ve got one (or more) of those Shimano freewheels from the Trek 560, if you need a spare cog or such.

  3. Corky Stewart says:

    Anyone on this thread interested in a perfect condition Sports Tourer from May 1974? I haven’t ridden it in years and it looks lonely hanging on the bike rack in my garage. Time to give it a new home with a collector. If interested, contact me and I’ll take some pictures to send.

  4. Pingback: Les Schwinn is More: Enter the junk box | 16incheswestofpeoria

  5. Pingback: Les Schwinn is More: Strip and Give Me 34 | 16incheswestofpeoria

  6. Mark Fulton says:

    Nice to know there are still a few of these floating around. I bought one used in about ’79 from a bike shop I was working at (being a bike fixer and then a grad student, I didn’t have a lot of green stuff to drop on bikes, and this thing always rode pretty nicely). It’s morphed a few times over the years, but I still ride it.

    The Nervar cranks fit the old TA triple chainwheels, so I built the drivetrain into a half-step plus granny “15” speed (really about 12 usable gear ratios) within a couple years of the purchase. The original derailleurs worked (and still work) fine with that. It had light wheels with “skinhead” tires at one time, which was great fun for riding on asphalt, but a bike thief in my Madison WI neighborhood thought the wheels and tires were pretty cool too, so the original wheels went back on.

    In the last 15 years I’ve started a family and gotten a professor job, and our neighborhood in northern Minnesota has very little pavement (and sandy trails), so for about a decade, the thing sat in the shed. It accumulated rust and dust.

    I’ve recently gotten some 27 x 1 3/8 cyclocross tires, and re-built it yet again into an upright for road and light trail use. Still a pleasant ride in its current re-configuration, and works OK for trails, although the new tires don’t allow clearance for fenders.

    Original components still in use: front wheel, stem, fork, Weinmann centerpull brakes, Nervar crankset, front (steel Huret) and rear (Schwinn LeTour = Shimano Crane) derailleurs. Everything else has changed once or twice.

    It looks like hell (rust speckles and scratches on the pain job), and it’s pretty heavy. Who cares? It rides fine, it’s ridiculously stiff and sturdy, and it’ll probably still be rideable after another 40 years.

    • There’s a great deal to be said in favor of riding an old bicycle, especially one old enough that it is not so out of date as it is out of time. A rider with the latest electric derailleur system does not judge the value of her purchase against your bicycle; she is left to find some sorry soul riding last year’s 11-cog wonder, actuated by (gasp) roughly the same cable system as a Peugeot U-08. That rider is worthy of her pity; you and I, on the other hand, strain her ability to understand what she is seeing: satisfied riders atop machines only slightly more sophisticated than The Wheel from The Wizard of Id.

      We are not so far gone with the Schwinns, however. Our pace is their pace. Our expectations, fully in line with our machines’ capabilities. We are properly aligned with the roads even though our mounts may not be. Salut!

  7. Dan says:

    I am proud to say that I own the same bike, same model. I found it at an Estate Sale in the backyard chained to a tree. It was in bad condition, but I restored it back to life and ride it frequently. It was a steal for $5.

    Do you know what the value of the bike is today? It has all of the components that you highlighted. And it is that light blue color.

    • Ah, the value of an old bicycle. I am not aware of a busy market for Schwinn fillet-brazed frames. What we do have to refer to is the Internet, but being able to find references to the bikes and an eager market are two different things. I wasn’t in the market for mine when it became available, and I only studied it after the fact. The one catalog I reviewed listed the bike in 22, 24 and 26 inch frame sizes, which means I never would have searched this bike out except for the fact that it was one component of a cycling estate. At 5-foot-7, even the frame I have is too big. They are sometimes listed on eBay, sometimes for hundreds of dollars. But then again, that’s eBay. Asking a price and getting it, again, two different things. If someone’s looking for a used road bike, the Schwinn is competing with every used road bike made since the 70s, most of them better equipped and lighter, and all of them made with Campy style dropouts, instead of the Schwinn’s Huret design, and front forks 100mm over locknut instead of the Schwinn’s 91mm. If someone’s looking to recapture the bicycle of their youth, in mint condition, I’d be surprised to get more than $500–and I’m just pulling that out of the air, not being aware of either the hypothetical bike or the imaginary buyer. I’d say ride it until the wheels fall off. Then put the wheels back on and ride it some more.

  8. Andy Drechsel says:

    I too, also have a light blue Schwinn Sport Tourer,from 1972 , KH 017965.
    It is for sale for $175.00 in Rochester N.Y.
    ajdrechsel01@aol.com
    The front wheel I believe was swapped out,the front hub does not say Schwinn,and the rear wheel has a 6 speed cassette with a Shimano derailler,everything else looks right.
    The frame is about a 23 incher.

  9. Dan Miller says:

    I am looking for a 26 inch frame Schwinn Sport’s Tourer. I rode one for 16 years until it was stolen out of our garage.

    • Sorry about your loss, Dan. You must be pretty tall to ride a 26 inch. The 22 inch I’ve just about completed–just need struts for the front fender–is big for 5-foot-7 me, but with upright handlebars curving back toward me, I’m making it work.

      • Dan Miller says:

        It was a terrific loss for me. It was like my brother. I was working at a Schwinn Shop in 1972 when I bought it. I assembled the bike. No one else ever maintained it. It was $220 at the same time the chrome Paramont was $550. I should have gotten the Paramont but as a teacher I was only making $7600 a year. Every scratch on the bike had a huge story to it. I added lots of upgrades like handlebar stem, seat post, pedals, fingertip shifters and derailleurs. We took it in our van when we vacationed in San Fransisco. I made the comment that I could ride the bike up any of the hills. My wife bet me dinner at Chinatown that I could not. I did it. Friends used to kid me that the bike had granny gears on it. I could go up any hill at about the same pace a person would walk their bike.

      • If you have a picture of you and the bike, and want to participate, I’d be happy to post your story on the site, not so much as the story of a treasured bicycle lost as a story about someone who valued a machine enough to continue riding it–for decades. Though I’ve gone through a few bikes over the years, I don’t believe I’ve ever abandoned a machine because it was worn out, but I haven’t had any of them as long as you have, either.

        If you want, mail bikewritercat (at) gmail (dot) com.

    • Tim Lieu says:

      Dan,
      I have a 26″ Yellow Sports Tourer that I can sell you. I was trying to find someone with a 24″ to trade with, but no luck so far. Where are you located? I’m in Southern California. Email me if interested.

      Tim

      • Dan Miller says:

        How much is it? Could you send a picture? Mine was yellow. Maybe you’re the guy that stole it.; ) I am in Illinois. Would you be willing to box it up and send it? My e-mail address is dmiller155@aol.com

  10. James Jaeger says:

    is there a good place to look for a frame like this… am looking for a ’72 opaque green or blue frame for schwinn sports tourer

    • Just took a look at eBay. Several Sports Tourers are listed, but only one at a price I’d consider ($160). And I’d only consider it if I could pick it up, because at $70, shipping is a killer. Things to watch out for: bikes with the same name but aren’t the Sports Tourer you’re looking for. There’s a black Taiwanese Schwinn listed that way, and it’s nowhere close to the same thing.

      In any case, review the listings carefully. That $160 bike doesn’t have the original wheels, and I wonder whether the rear derailleur is actually a match for the Huret dropout. If not, you’ll either have to find a derailleur that was built to fit or do what I did and fabricate a derailleur angle adapter.

      The other listings feature significantly higher prices, but will almost always require work before they’re roadworthy. Like the yellow one for $399. The missing parts–seatpost, pedals–are one thing, but the lister “power washed” the bike. Depending on how thorough the job was, the bearings are probably washed out and now rusting.

      Why the interest in the Sports Tourer? Did you once own one? If not, be sure to read all my Sports Tourer posts. They’ll give you an idea of things to watch out for–and the amount of work you’ll need to invest in.

      Hope that helped a bit.

  11. I just picked up a Sports Tourer that has been hanging for many years. Everything looks original, including tires, which would likely disintegrate if pumped. All bearings appear dry, almost solid grease and difficult to turn, not from wear, but I believe from lack of wear(use). Now it hangs in my shop. I hope to restore it, as is. I am hoping to only clean, re-lube, and re-con. Maybe have it ready for my annual “ride your age” trek in November.

    • I’ve been working on a friend’s racing bike with similar issues. The headset felt like it was screwed down tight, but it was (mostly) the concrete consistency of the grease. I’m looking forward to its shake-down cruise; always fun to liberate the lightweight machine trapped inside the time machine.

      I like that idea of a ride your age ride. Might try it next February, when it’s once again an even number.

  12. carol jackson says:

    I have a schwinn long neck. What is that worth?

  13. Stephen Barner says:

    That Huret dropout is interesting, as Schwinn modified it to fit the Campagnolo Gran Tourismo derailleur by cutting a notch out of the leading edge of the hanger. Schwinn may have originally speced the Huret dropout planning to use a wide-range Alvit to match the front mech, but any testing would have shown that the long cage Alvit gave terrible performance, given the freewheel tooth profiles of the day. Schwinn used a 5-speed freewheel with skip-teeth on the largest two cogs to get the chain all the way up into low. While many considered the Campy GT to be a boat anchor, it could be made to shift passably well, though it was easily bent–surprising considering its weight. The later LeTour model was a huge improvement, although I would stick with the GT and just be careful.

    Schwinn was after the bike touring and hosteling market that was still strong late in the bike boom, which is why they sought the “widest gear range” distinction, but you can see by the gear chart that there’s a lot of virtual redundancy, which is a real issue with only 8 combinations toe choose from. It is, essentially, a six-speed bike. The range on the front chainwheel is similar to today’s compact gearing, but the latter works with the corresponding 9-10 speed cog sets, as one can run through a bunch of gears in the rear, getting fairly closely spaced jumps, before shifting in the front. With only four useful cogs in the back for each chainwheel, the jumps between gears were huge. A triple is a much better strategy for wide-range with five and six-speed clusters, but many of the typical Schwinn customers in that era were afraid of triples. I know–I was selling Schwinns to them!

    The ST used a special hubset, which were Normany Luxe hubs rebadged as Schwinn Deluxe. They looked from the outside like a Campy Record and had polished cones that ran a tad smoother, but pitted almost as rapidly as the regular Normandy Sport hubs. At least Schwinn carried the special replacement cones for them, which was more than any other manufacturer seemed to do. I have never cracked one of these hubs open after any significant amount of use without finding pitted cones. Of course, this is pretty much the same with any French bicycle cup & cone bearing of the era.

    While these are interesting bikes, historically, one would be nuts to ride one very far these days. At best they are still heavy, dull-riding machines. You will have a lot more fun riding almost anything more modern. In terms of value, if you had a really nice, all-original one, it might be interesting to a collector, but I doubt any ST has increased anyone’s pulse rate in over 40 years. A collector would likely be interested in it as a curiosity or memento, and then only if it were a good price.

    • Thanks for the info. I agree–even if I’d has the original wheels, I would have been unlikely to use the hubs or freewheel. As currently configured, it makes for a nice upright ride, but then again, it’s not the bike I’d grab for a century.

  14. Pete says:

    I somehow dug up one of these, literally the exact frame. Both original tires. The rear tire got stolen. Was such a bummer. But other than that its a really solid bike. I Love it

    • I don’t know what it is about Chicago Schwinn bicycles. They just keep turning up all over. My sister just gave me a Schwinn with a skip-link chain and New Departure coaster brake. Don’t know when the thick, blocky Goodyear tires on it were last ridden, but they had air in them from storage.

  15. Tom says:

    Thank you all for this thread. I still have my original Tourer and I can’t wait to clean it up and ride it.

  16. Tim F. says:

    I’m anxiously awaiting the arrival of my “new” ’71 Sports Tourer. I found it on Craig’s List some time ago, but it was on Long Island, so my brother (who lives up there) went and got it for me and has been keeping it safe for me. Next weekend he brings it down and I get to finally see it. Woo hoo!

  17. Chris C says:

    I had a 1974 Sports Tourer, which I had chrome plated. It was gorgeous. Unfortunately it was stolen from a motel I was staying at in Utah many years ago. I just purchased another one on eBay and hope to detail it the same as the one I used to own. I loved that bike…

  18. MY wife and I bought a pair of the Schwinn Sports Touring bikes a little over 40 years ago. They have always been in environmentally controlled storage. They are green and still in mint condition! Always adult ridden! They have Campanula derailleurs and so fourth. I am 89 years old now and really don’t ride anymore. They are hung up on our rack in a heated garage. They have been used on the Elroy/Sparta trail in Wisc to name an example. One of them is a 24 and the other a 26. They are great bikes. …Jim & Sylvia Corbin

  19. NJ Night Rider says:

    OK, so I bought a ST back in ’72 when I was 18 … Before that a Continental… have had it ever since, and I’ve stayed true blue, no other bicycle either … Did a major overhaul on it about 2 years back . Replaced everything having ball bearings … WHAT a difference!!! New wheels with Shimano XT hubs , Velocity Dyad rims, and bought a spoke tensioner, created an Excel spreadsheet recording each and every spoke’s tensions and brought the spokes into proper tension between 110kgf and 130kgf. while entering into a Zen state doing so.. 😎
    BB replaced with Shimano, got the Shimano XT long cage rear derailer, spread the rear seat stays to 165mm for about 2 hours, released tension and presto … proper width for the 130mm rear hub and 11 gear Shimano 11-46 cassette.
    Qt:
    Anyone still reading this post??
    Anyone know if a new fork can be mounted onto this beast?
    I currently am running 32mm tires … would like wider …
    Yea, I know, why don’t I just buy a wider tire bike? I suppose it’s emotional … I get all teary eyed over it … 😎

    • You must really like that bike. Though, once you replace the fork, can the frame be far behind?

    • NJ Night Rider says:

      So it’s over 3 years later, wheels have stayed true riding perhaps the worst roads in the country through Manhattan, Queens, Brooklyn and the Bronx …
      Instead of repainting it via rattle-can myself I had the bike powder coated yellow … 3 years later the powder coat sucks with chipping rusting etc … probably would have been the same if I sprayed it my self …where to get a long lasting paint job ???
      still have the same fork … will probably never replace it though so yea , what remains of the original bike are the frame, fork, handlebars and stem … so is it the same bike? Hmmm … Are WE the same person as the body replaces most of our cells as they decay? I look in the mirror and still don’t recognize the face … 😎
      BTW … I will NOT wear a freakn’ mask while riding the bike during the current Corona Craze!

  20. desertrider says:

    I am the original owner, and still in possession of a 1971 Schwinn Super Sport. Bought it in Topeka KS when I was serving in the US Air Force. It has travelled with me throughout the U.S. as well as when I was stationed in Korea during the late 70s. It still runs fine, although the front and rear derailleur have been replaced. While in South Korea Schwinn sent me free of charge a replacement rear derailleur and cables.

    • younkint says:

      My old 72 Schwinn Sports Tourer (built in Nov., 71) came from the Topeka Schwinn dealer! I’ve had it for about 25 years.

      Found it abandoned in a rental house garage. Couldn’t find the owner, so landlord finally said, “It’s yours.” In good shape and original, but I’ve never ridden it …for various reasons, including a nasty ex wife (almost didn’t get it back) and medical issues. Now it’s number two in line for a refurb behind my old 74 Raleigh. The Raleigh is on the bike rack now. Probably about three months before it’s on the road once again.

      • Stephen Barner says:

        Back in 1972, I was in the market for a replacement for my Schwinn Varsity and it came down to a choice between a Sports Tourer or a Motobecane Grand Touring. I went with the Moto, largely because it would have been a long wait for the ST, but I think the Moto was lighter as well, in spite of its use of carbon steel tubing rather than the Schwinn’s chrome moly. The ST is especially interesting to me, as it was one of the last of the fine, fillet-brazed Schwinns even though its construction was antiquated by that time. Schwinn had invested a huge amount of money into automation of its electrically-welded frames in the late 1950s, and designed their “gaspipe” frames to resemble their expensive, fillet-brazed models. If you look at a Varsity, Continental, or a child’s model of the 1960s and 70s, you’ll see that the headtube and BB joints look almost exactly like those of the Super Sport and Sports Tourer, but if you look close you can see an area about 3/4″ from the joint where the tube appears to have been worked and this is where the actual weld is located. Schwinn has been criticized for not differentiating the handmade bikes from their lowly brethren, but that missed the point. Schwinn wanted upscale models for prestige, and was not all that interested in selling a ton of them. In those days, the bikes below the Super Sport were where Schwinn was making the vast majority of its money. I wouldn’t be surprised if Schwinn could have produced 100 Continental frames in the time it took to make one Super Sport.

        I now have a ’71 Sports Tourer that I bought as a frame and fork and built up to be almost exactly as an original, save for the hubs. I almost ended up with two, as I later spotted one that was like new and had a price of only $75 on it, but I talked myself out of it. The Sports Tourer is a strong bike, well-suited for a large, heavy rider or someone who values a reliable, rugged bike. I don’t think that anyone who has ridden a lot of nice bikes would ever describe the ride of a ST as “lively,” and it certainly isn’t light. Schwinn’s straight gauge chrome moly with its added internal sleeves in lieu of external lugs was not in the same league as the butted, Reynolds 531 frames of the competition.

      • Appreciate the insights. I also had a Grand Touring—champagne color. A nice, light bike that I kept until my head was turned by an older, orange Champion Team. I’d be happy to have either one back.

  21. Stephen says:

    I have this same bike, has been hanging in the garage for the past 30 years collecting dust.

    • Stephen says:

      I had a chance to look up the registration number: manufactured November 1971. I have a renewed interest in the bike, but probably the “least mechanical person” around, any tips (point me in the right direction) on how to give it a proper shine and sound mechanical order. I am not opposed to taking it to a professional if that is what must be done.

    • NJ Night Rider says:

      Stephen … what size frame is it? and where are you? Interested in selling? If not … get on the bike and ride!!!!
      😎

  22. Steve Zuckerman says:

    Just listed my 1972, 22″ frame for 800 on Craigslist (Ventura). Superb Mechanical condition, moderate wear, but extremely clean. Loved the bike, but haven’t ridden in years…

  23. Steve Zuckerman says:

    Following up on my previous post, in case anyone is interested…
    http://www.ventura.craigslist.org/bik/d/moorpark-vintage-schwinn-sports-tourer/7434158817.html
    I can arrange to ship. The cost would be shipping only, no markup.
    Thanks.

Leave a comment